Bonfire Of The Brands

September 1, 2006

burning-sneakers.jpg

I’ve always felt strange wearing clothes that have brand names written all over them. So for the last few years I’ve worn clothes that either were subtle in the logo or hid the tag inside.

  • First of all I hate to be a bill board advertisement for clothing companies.
  • Second, it looks tacky.
  • Third, even though people might pay a lot for clothes, they shouldn’t be judged by what brand they are wearing. People should like you for who you are, not what you wear.

Well, One person decided that they are sick and tired of brands. So Neil Boorman is setting all the brand name items he owns, on fire! What a cool guy! He dislikes brands to the point of setting them on fire. My advice for him is to chill out and remove or hide the brand name logos. Problem solved right? For him, I don’t think so.

I would like to know if there is any way possible to escape advertisements, besides living in a forest, in the middle of nowhere. Well, I can’t think of a way to escape it all. Personally I would go live on a beach, but I still think there will be Coca-Cola or some brand name item everywhere. Just not nearly as much as in a city. If one day advertisement becomes as extreme as it was in the movie “Minority Report” I’ll have to move to a forest, or a deserted beach. Enjoy the links below.

[Link – Blogger Bonfire Of The Brands]

[Cool Hunting article]

2 Responses to “Bonfire Of The Brands”

  1. oneguy Says:

    I’m with you on not liking the brands. I wouldn’t go so far as to burn them, though — then you’re just giving the companies money for nothing. I think you should vote with your dollars and not buy stuff with prominant branding — the companies will get the picture and stop making it.

  2. av1611girl Says:

    Okay….you think a guy is cool for burning things-ANYWAYS
    You express your personality through the clothes you buy-You wear a shirt with Niki on it I’ll assume you’re a jock and love sports, you wear billy bong you’re a skater, you wear a plain red shirt…you’re boring.
    Some people care about the brand others don’t, people that care about you won’t care-

    I like brands because when a girl I know where’s something I like too I say there’s a girl with style*) J/K
    guys differ


Leave a Reply

